top of page
  • Writer's pictureEttelNoh

Thou Shall Not Lose Focus




When things around and inside us keep competing for our attention, it is easy to lose focus. When anxieties creep from within, depression dries us out, and the feeling of worthlessness keeps bombarding our thoughts, how do we cope? We think of ourselves as powerless to sin because we are focused on ourselves. When we feel helpless, it's easy to fall prey to self-pity—the enemy's device to keep our attention on what we "think" we are and what we cannot do.


But we are not powerless.

"Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us." - Ephesians 3:20

It is His power that is at work within us that will enable us to rebuke the evil that threatens to overcome us and that will help us to take away our focus from ourselves and back to God. Indeed we are weak without Jesus, but remember that we can rejoice in our weakness because when we are weak, then we are strong.


"But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong."- 2 Corinthians 12:9-11

When we can't see our way forward, keep looking up.


"You will keep in perfect peace, all who trust in you, all whose thoughts are fixed on you!" -Isaiah 26:3 NLT

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page